In the early 1950's, cowboys and cowgirls here in the Great Northwest decided it was time to standardize the elements that affected their competition and joined together to form the Oregon Rodeo Association. This organization would work to improve arena and stock conditions, as well as develop uniform event rules to make competition fair for all.

Written records are incomplete, but some of the founding members are still active participants and they confirm that a general membership vote at the 1956 convention changed the name of the Oregon Rodeo Association to the Northwest Rodeo Association to better represent the area it encompassed.

The NRA continued to flourish and grow as more and more rodeos came under its sanction and the number of contestants increased. The sport was rapidly gaining fans and recognition! The following time line charts the major changes and additions to the association's format that have taken place over the last forty years and shows some of the ways the association has adapted to the growth of the sport of rodeo:

1950 - The Oregon Rodeo Association was formed.

1956 - The ORA Changed it's name to the Northwest Rodeo Association

1968 - The NRA was incorporated and improved its business operations.

1978 - The NRA joined the North American Rodeo Commission, a group formed by regional rodeo associations from across the United States.

1979, 1980, 1981 - The NRA sent a team of contestants to Calgary, Alberta, Canada for the World Cup Championship Rodeo. "Team Northwest" was runner-up in '79. In both '80 and '81 the team, then called the Northwest Volcanoes, won the NARC World Cup Championship title. The team concept finals at Calgary only lasted for three years, but Northwest cowboys and cowgirls made their mark proving that there are no better rodeo athletes in the world than what you'll see right here in the Great Northwest!

1984 - A new rodeo entry method was born. "Dial-A-Rodeo", a computerized central entry system revolutionized the way contestants entered rodeos. Breakaway roping was added as an optional event this year as well.

1989 - The NRA officially changed its name to the Northwest Professional Rodeo Association.

1997 - The NPRA moved its year-end Championship Finals to the Linn County Fairgrounds in Albany, OR. This new indoor facility enabled the NPRA to host a first-class Championship Finals Rodeo with great success.


Any NPRA member or past member that is fifty years of age or older that has reflected a positive image on the NPRA and the sport of rodeo in general.

Diana Alexander
Randy Amis
Deanne Bain
Kathryn Bain
Nancy Barker
Ron Barker
Larry Barney
Buster Bain - B-D Rodeos
Norm Durfey - B-D Rodeos
John Berklund
Norman Bernbeck
Marvin Bothum
Bill Brewer
Randy Britt
Sid Britt
Vern Cathcart
Jim Crozier
Pau DuPont
Delene Durfey
Gary Erb
Norma Erb
Mike Erickson
Rob Estabrook
Ben Finley
Bob Fodge
Norman Goree
Gib Gregg
Don Griffith
Joann Griffith
Jake Grossmiller
Ed Hallowell
Fred Holly
Mike Holsten
Ronnie Hovey
Debbie Howell - Howell Rodeo Co
Jerry Howell - Howell Rodeo Co
Steve Johnson
Gene Jordan
Billie King
Harlan Knowles
Reggie Lee
Ted Lee
Ray Lovell
Lynne Mays
John McCay
JD McLing
Jean McPherson
Steve Morrish
Paul Moyer
Harry Noble
Helen Noble
Kedo Olson
Shorty Palmer
Darrell Parker
Buz Peth
Rita Rattray
Lucy Schnabele
Pat Shannon
Glenn Shedeck
Paul Skirvin
Gay Stockdale
Danna Stovner
Randy Thompson
Louie Torricellas
Ralph West
Sam Willis